Welcome to Early Years at St Michael’s Church of England Primary School.

At St Michael’s we are proud to be able to offer a 2 Year Old provision, a Nursery class and a Reception class to form our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

We have experienced and well qualified staff working within our unit who have the wellbeing and care of your child at their heart and we have a wonderful and spacious environment, both inside and out, in which your child can grow and learn. Our environment is continuously evolving as we respond to the interests and fascinations of the children and create exciting spaces to learn.  Our areas include role play areas: a deconstructed role play area, an office, a shop and home corners. We have creative areas for messy play, painting, play doh and model making. Our children also enjoy construction toys and small world play. We are very lucky to have our very own EYFS library where the children have access to a huge variety of books as well as resources to support story telling. The children enjoy a large outdoor area that includes a mud kitchen, a music wall, mark making areas, a large sand pit and climbing frame, not to mention a fantastic view of Alnwick Castle! 

We are happy to welcome visitors.  Should you wish to take a look around please don’t hesitate to get in touch with the school office to make an appointment.
We look forward to welcoming you.

Mrs Sue Lockey – Early Years Teacher

Early Years Curriculum ‘Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential.’Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage – April 2017 In our Early Years our practitioners follow the guidance set out in the Statutory Framework for Early Years and in the non-statutory guidance called Early Years guidance which supports practitioners with implementing the statutory guidance of the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage). 

The Foundation Stage is the stage of education for children from birth to the end of the Reception year or age 5.

The Foundation Stage Curriculum is based on the recognition that children learn best through play and active learning.

The curriculum is organised into the seven areas of learning listed below:

Prime Areas

  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language 

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design